Regulations regarding the sale and consumption of alcohol vary from state to state. The following is a brief overview of Kentucky liquor laws. For detailed information on Kentucky Liquor laws or getting licensed to sell alcoholic beverages in Kentucky, visit the website of the Kentucky Alcoholic Beverage Control.
- You must be 21 years old to purchase and consume alcohol in Kentucky.
- You must be at least 18 and in the company of someone at least 20 years old to sell packaged beer in a grocery store or gas station. You must be 20 years old in order to bartend, and no one under the age of 20 is permitted to wait on a table in which alcoholic beverages are being consumed.
- Liquor can be served from 6 a.m. to 4 a.m. Monday through Saturday and 1 p.m. to 4 a.m. on Sunday in Louisville, Kentucky. Some cities and counties stop at 12 am by state law.
- Liquor can be served from 6 a.m. to 2 a.m. Monday through Saturday and 1 p.m. to 2 a.m. on Sunday in all Kentucky cities and counties outside of Metro Louisville.
- Kentucky has several dozen dry counties where the sale of alcohol is prohibited or where liquor sales are permitted only at certain approved sites. The full list of wet, dry, and limited counties can be found on the Kentucky Department of Alcohol Beverage Control website.